The Storm

The storm was building through my self importance.

A heart was sinking through my ignorance.

You looked at me with all your attention.

Beautiful, brown full eyes, only needing my affection.

My mind and heart, had shrunk into something insignificant,

not even worth your  presence.

Still my ego beat on, with its own self righteousness.

Clattering to its own song, your patience  ignored while time slipped by.

Sometimes I claim  ownership of what is not truly mine.

Your genuine, beautiful soul, radiating warm kindness.

My own misguided truth, stubbornness my blindness.

I left you scampering in the darkness, while I threw down the rain.

Sorry beautiful one, what I dealt you was only misery and pain.

© Deon Heemskerk

stormcloud

Leave a Reply

