Seconds

Seconds

Just for a second I was so proud.
But the tree in the forest falling is not heard, if no one is around.

I’d been left on my island long ago.
Just like the castaway talking to a coconut head, that was me too.

Across the great seas, friends have left to make new lives.
I’m the little straggling kid behind the class, behind the times.

Joy taken from the reflection of the sun off the flowing river.
Cheap form of happiness but it wont find the silver.

The increasing heaviness of the living price.
The weights of responsibility stacking under my eyes.

Sink or swim,  the ice over this cold water is so thin.

© Deon Heemskerk 18-6-2012

 

Leave a Reply

