Spirits of Consumption

Spirits Of Consumption

When I shifted my gaze it was too late.
You had emptied the castle and locked the gate.

Your light bulb cracked above your head.
The future plans that had not been met.

Somehow I became the unlikely foe.
My happiness on you did not grow.

Your burning drum, fueled by the spirits of consumption.
My smile and busy life, not caring your interpretation.

I will be the first to admit that my sails caught a lucky wind.
Gently guided by a bright soul, warmth in her caring.

You must remember that at any time, things could become unfortunate for me.
That’s why I smile, not take things for granted and must be happy.

© Deon Heemskerk 11-7-2012

Leave a Reply

