Different

Different

My life holds little financial gain, little meat on the bone.

Not physically bigger, but I have grown.

Dreaming still large, but taking small steps.

I wonder in and out of the sun and the shady depths.

Familiar with my own shadow, I move ahead.

What I do today, will bake tomorrows bread.

The emotional seeds I give to you, who knows what they will grow.

Your interpretation, that I will not know.

I apologise for the fact that I am different.

My intention was not to distance myself, just to change how my time is spent.

Don’t you see that there is no worse a lie, than to lie to yourself?

Pretend to be someone you’re not, leave your soul in the sun to melt.

Deflating just for the fact of blending in, shoulders hunched following everyone else down the line.

I’ve learnt much from my cousin, that with passion you don’t need to worry about time.

No looking at a watch or Callender, thinking that life’s flying by.

Im starting to notice the cost of being different, but keeping in contact i will try.

Days melt into nights, the nights just morph into days.

The seasons change what we are planting, but they all grow in the suns rays.

© Deon Heemskerk 7-6-2012

 

4 responses

  1. j

    nice one d

    June 7, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    • Deon Heemskerk

      Thanks man!

      June 8, 2012 at 8:58 am

  2. Ariane

    Wow!!! Deon you have a talent!! Thank you for sharing its beauty with us so selflessly and joyfully!!!!

    June 8, 2012 at 8:55 pm

    • Deon Heemskerk

      Talent im not sure about but i just put my thoughts out there! Tankyou for your kind words though 🙂

      June 12, 2012 at 8:56 am

Leave a Reply

